Bensalem, PA Traffic Violations Defense Attorney
Traffic violations often are a person’s only interaction with a police officer. They always come at a bad time, whether you are speeding because you are late, miss a school bus stop sign on the way to work, or roll through a stop sign. As annoying as these incidents are they carry with them real life repercussions including fines, points on your license, and even suspensions. You need an experienced Bensalem, PA attorney on your side to protect your rights and your livelihood.
Serious Traffic Crimes
Traffic violations in Bensalem Pennsylvania can range from moving violations with minimal penalties to misdemeanors and felonies that can incur fines and imprisonment. Some common and serious traffic cases include Driving Under the Influence and:
Driving with a suspended or revoked license is considered a summary offense with a fine of $200 and an additional one-year or two-year license suspension. However, if the suspension is based on a DUI conviction, admission to ARD program or refusal to submit to chemical testing, it is a summary offense with a $500-$1000 fine and a mandatory 60 to 90 days in jail. (Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes 75 § 1543).
Overtaking a school bus occurs when a driver fails to stop at least ten feet before a stopped school bus when the red signal lights are flashing. A conviction of this offense includes a $250 fine and 30-day license suspension. (Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes 75 § 3345)
Reckless Driving occurs when a person drives their vehicle in willful disregard for the safety of other people or property. A conviction for this charge is a summary offense with a fine of $200 and a 6-month license suspension. (Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes 75 § 3736)
A person can be charged with vehicular homicide when he or she causes the death of another person while recklessly driving or driving with gross negligence. This offense is a felony of the third degree and can incur up to 5 years imprisonment. (Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes 75 § 3732)
Fleeing or attempting to elude officers occurs when a driver willfully fails to stop or refuses to stop their vehicle when an officer orders them to stop. This offense is a misdemeanor of the second degree. A conviction can lead to a fine of $500 and a one-year license suspension. (Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes 75 § 3733).
Understanding Bensalem Pennsylvania’s Traffic Violations Point System
Pennsylvania has created a point system that assigns a number of points to drivers in the state for every conviction of a traffic offense. The number of points assigned depends on the seriousness of the offense. The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) keeps a record of the points accrued by each driver in the state. If someone accrues six or more points, PennDOT will punish them through a mandatory exam and driver’s license suspension.
Traffic offenses in Pennsylvania are assigned the following points:
- Exceeding school zone or special speed limits – 3 points
- Failure to yield or stop at a stop sign – 3 points
- Failure to yield to pedestrians – 3 points
- Following too closely – 3 points
- Illegal U-turn – 3 points
- Improper passing on a hill – 4 points
- Improper passing, except on a hill – 3 points
- Leaving the scene of a crash with property damage – 4 points
- Other driver’s license violations – 3 points
- Passing a stopped school bus – 5 points
- Reckless driving – 3 points
- Running a red light or flashing red light – 3 points
- Speeding 6 to 10 miles over the speed limit – 2 points
- Speeding 11 to 15 miles over the speed limit – 3 points
- Speeding 16 to 25 miles over the speed limit – 4 points
- Speeding 26 miles or more over the speed limit – 5 points
- Violation of a driver’s license restriction – 2 points
For a free consultation on your traffic case contact the Law Offices of Ryan L. Hyde at (484) 886-4271. With offices in King of Prussia, Exton and Doylestown we are hear to serve the needs of our clients.
Penalties For Pennsylvania’s Driving Point System
The first time that a driver accumulates six points, they will be required to a take a written exam over knowledge of safe driving practices, knowledge of penalties and knowledge of safety issues. They will have 30 days after the accrual of their points to take and pass the exam. If they do not take it within this designated time period, their driver’s license will be suspended until the exam is passed.
If a Driver accumulates six points for a second time, they will have to attend a departmental hearing. PennDOT will review the driver’s record at the hearing, and recommend either a 15-day license suspension, an order to take an on-road driver’s exam or no action at all. Failure to attend the hearing results in an immediate 60-day suspension.
If a Driver accumulates six points for the third time, they will have to attend a departmental hearing where PennDOT will determine if the person’s license should be suspended for 30 days. Failure to attend this hearing will result in a license suspension until the person attends the hearing.
Once a driver accrues 11 points or more, the driver’s license will be automatically suspended depending on how many times the license has been suspended in the past, up to a one-year suspension.
Get Help from an Experienced Traffic Violations Lawyer
Most people know the story that just show up and the officer will cut you a deal. What if you show up and there is no deal? Do you know what that deal is? Do you know where and when to show up?
Most people don’t regularly go to court and any interaction with officers and judges is stressful. Having a traffic attorney takes the stress off. Whether you need to try your case, negotiate with an officer or appeal for leniency to a judge Mr. Hyde has the experience to get you the best possible outcome.
Mr. Hyde has routinely obtained successful outcomes for clients with all types of traffic tickets, including:
- Driving Under the Influence of Drugs or Alcohol (DUI)
- Leaving the Scene / Hit and Run
- Driving While License Suspended or Revoked
- Vehicular Homicide
- Fleeing or Eluding a Police Officer
- Unauthorized Use of Motor Vehicle
- Insurance or Registration Violations
- Reckless Driving
- Overtaking a School Bus
- Driving Without a License
West Chester Traffic Lawyer
If you have been charged with a traffic violation in Chester County, Montgomery County or Bucks County, then contact an experienced attorney at the The Law Firm of Ryan L. Hyde. Mr. Hyde will help you find out what you need to do today to protect yourself against a criminal prosecution and to protect your driving privileges. Call (484)886-4271 for a free and confidential consultation today.